The Waifs Release Sixth Album

Get the latest from Beat

The Waifs Release Sixth Album


New album for The Waifs.

After a five year hiatus, The Waifs have released Temptation, the follow up to 2006’s Sun, Dirt, Water. The album, which was recorded in a ramshackle old house in Minneapolis, USA, is a return to the band’s roots.

This album was reunion of sorts for the Australian band whose members are now spread out all over the USA. Vocalist, Vikki Thorn, who just so happens to currently be pregnant, lives in Utah with her family, her sister, Donna Simpson in Minneapolis with her son and guitarist, Josh Cunningham, lives with his new wife in California. They were once again joined in the rhythm section by drummer, David Ross Macdonald, and bassist, Ben Franz.

The Waifs have been making music together for the past 19 years but their first major hit came in 2002 with the EP, London Still. Their 2003 album, Up All Night, went double platinum in Australia and earned them four ARIA awards.

Temptation comes out today through Jarrah Records and MGM Distribution. The Waifs are currently touring Australia. Check out their website for more details.