Australian Music Prize nominees list packed with Melbourne acts

Australian Music Prize nominees list packed with Melbourne acts

Amyl and the Sniffers

The Australian Music Prize is back for its 17th instalment in 2021 revealing 110 nominated albums for a $30,000 cash prize.

The Australian Music Prize (AMP) will award one lucky act with the $30,000 cash prize for the best album of the year as decided by an expert panel of industry judges.

Having already announced 23 nominated albums back in October, the AMP has now finalised their list of 110 official Nominations for the cash prize, courtesy of the major sponsor Independent Australian merch company Soundmerch.

After reviewing more than 450 eligible Australian artist album releases of 2021, the diverse judging panel of industry experts (including special international guest judge Billy Bragg) have finalised their list with all Nominated albums now in the running to make the Shortlist best 9 albums of 2021 which will be announced in late January 2022.

What you need to know

  • The Australian Music Prize has released its final album nominations list for 2021.
  • All Nominated albums are now in the running to make the Shortlist best 9 albums of 2021 which will be announced in late January 2022
  • EMI, Virgin and Island have each partnered with The Soundmerch AMP to sponsor the announcement of the Shortlist in early 2022.

Keep up with the latest music news via our website.

Joining the likes of Genesis Owusu, You Am I, Tash Sultana and King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, the finalised list now includes names like Amyl and The Sniffers, Baker Boy, Client Liaison, DZ Deathrays, The Jungle Giants, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Sam Teskey, Hiatus Kaiyote, Illy, Maple Glider, among many other favourite Aussie artists that have made their mark this year.

“It’s such an extraordinary opportunity to hear the vast expression of Australian album making talent,” says Australian musician, Abbe May, a judge of The 17th Soundmerch AMP.

“I am always so excited by the capacity for Australian artists to not only create world-class music but to achieve this consistently in the powerful and difficult form of an Album – it is not an easy accomplishment and yet so many Australian artists have made some of the world’s best albums this year.”

In support of the prize, and to ensure The AMP continues to champion new Australian music, global powerhouse labels, EMI, Virgin and Island have each partnered with The Soundmerch AMP to sponsor the announcement of the Shortlist in early 2022. Each label is contributing $3,000 cash to form a Shortlist funding pool of $9,000 which will be used to guarantee that the Shortlisted artists are not out-of-pocket by attending the Winner Announcement event in Melbourne in March.

“Over most of the AMP years, if an artist has told me that they can’t attend the main event as they simply can’t afford it, I’ve been able to help them out – however, with the craziness of the past couple of years AMP funding hasn’t been able to do so. To now have additional funds which are dedicated to those artists is such a relief!”

​​”As a lot of the artists Shortlisted by The AMP haven’t really started to earn significantly from their work, yet want to attend the announcement event, it can be hard,” says Independent artist, Ziggy Ramo in regards to the additional funds announced.

“I experienced this myself! So it’s great to hear that there are now funds available to ensure the artists don’t attend simply for not being able to afford to do so.”

The Australian Music Prize has established itself as arguably the premier award for Australian albums over the past 17 years. Recent winners have included Courtney Barnett’s stellar debut, A. B. Original’s undeniable Reclaim Australia, both albums by Sampa The Great and 2020’s luminous We Will Always Love You by The Avalanches.

Following one of the toughest years the music industry has ever faced, the final 9 nominees will be announced in early 2022, with the winner revealed Thursday, March 3, 2022.

Check out the nominated albums below and start adding them to your playlists.

The 17th Soundmerch AMP Nominated Albums

Allday – Drinking With My Smoking Friends
Amends – Tales Of Love, Loss, and Outlaws
Amyl and The Sniffers – Comfort To Me
Australian Art Orchestra – Hand To Earth
B Wise – Jamie
Bad Bangs – Character Building
Baker Boy – Gela
Courtney Barnett – Things Take Time, Take Time
Big Scary – Daisy
Billy Davis – This Is What’s Important
The Black Sorrows – Saint Georges Road
Bliss n Eso – The Sun
Bones and Jones – Ginger Gold (Farm Singles)
Bored Shorts – Way Off!
Katie Brianna – This Way Or Some Other
Lachlan Bryan & The Wildes – As Long As It’s Not Us
Candy – A Pull To Heal
Troy Cassar-Daley – The World Today
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – Carnage
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Me & Ennui Are Friends, Baby
Charm of Finches – Wonderful Oblivion
Belle Chen – Late Night Sessions: New Dawn
Chet Faker – Hotel Surrender
Children Collide – Time Itself
Civic – Future Forecast
Client Liaison – Divine Intervention
Comets – Rain Faces
Cool Sounds – Bystander
Cosmic Psychos – Mountain of Piss
Deuce – Deuce
Emma Donovan & The Putbacks – Under These Streets
Ryan Downey – A Ton Of Colours
Dseeva – Pressure Makes Diamonds
DZ Deathrays – Positive Rising: Part 2
Kutcha Edwards – Circling
Ruby Fields – Been Doin’ It For A Bit
Tori Forsyth – Provlépseis
Good Morning – Barnyard
The Goon Sax – Mirror II
Grigoryan Brothers – This Is Us: A Musical Reflection of Australia
Grinding Eyes – Taste The Monochrome
Harpooner – In Two Minds
Hiatus Kaiyote – Mood Valiant
Holy Holy – Hello My Beautiful World
HTRK – Rhinestones
IJALE – OTTN (On to the Next)
Illy – The Space Between
Indigo Sparke – Echo
Izy – Irene
Jarryd James – P.M.
Jazzparty – Nobody Gets Away
June Jones – Leafcutter
Jonnine – Blue Hills
The Jungle Giants – Love Sign
Steve Kilbey & The Winged Heels – The Hall of Counterfeits
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – L.W.
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Butterfly 3000
Kucka – Wrestling
Ajak Kwai – Let Me Grow My Wings
Jack Ladder – Hijack!
LANKS – Spirits Pt. 2
LIARS – The Apple Drop
Jess Locke – Don’t Ask Yourself Why
Luca Brasi – Everything Is Tenuous
Maple Glider – To Enjoy Is The Only Thing
Martha Marlow – Medicine Man
Mere Women – Romantic Notions
Merpire – Simulation Ride
Middle Kids – Today We’re The Greatest
Mista Monk – Inkswel – Muti
Mitch Dillon’s Compulsive Ramblers – Mitch Dillon’s Compulsive Ramblers
Mod Con – Modern Condition
The Murlocs – Bittersweet Demons
Ngaiire – 3
Mike Noga – Open Fire
Odette – Herald
Genesis Owusu – Smiling With No Teeth
The Paper Kites – Roses
Parvyn – Sa
Perfect Moment – Kangourou
Tex Perkins & The Fat Rubber Band – Tex Perkins & The Fat Rubber Band
Pond – 9
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets – SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound
Jordan Rakei – What We Call Life
Gretta Ray – Begin To Look Around
REMI – Fried
The Rubens – 0202
Rüfüs Du Sol – Surrender
Emma Russack & Lachlan Denton – Something Is Going To Change Tomorrow, Today. What Will You Do? What Will You Say?
Saint Surly & Dyl Thomas – Twelve (Hundred)
Heather Shannon – Midnight Sun
Tim Shiel – Distractions One
J.P. Shilo – Jubjoté
Shining Bird – Deadlands
Skydeck – Coupon
Alice Skye – I Feel Better But I Don’t Feel Good
Sleep D x Ad Lib Collective – Flashed Glass
Snowy Band – Alternate Endings
Julia Stone – Sixty Summers
Liz Stringer – First Time Really Feeling
Tash Sultana – Terra Firma
Sam Teskey – Cycles
Time For Dreams – Life Of The Inhabitant
Tora – A Force Majeure
Tropical Fuck Storm – Deep States
Vika & Linda – The Wait
Bob Weatherall / Halfway / William Barton – Restless Dream
Marcus Whale – The Hunger
You Am I – The Lives Of Others
Gretta Ziller – Judas Tree

For more information: