Amyl and the Sniffers’ new album is ‘raw self expression, defiant energy’

Amyl and the Sniffers’ new album is ‘raw self expression, defiant energy’

Amyl and the Sniffers

Following the mid-week drop of explosive new single 'Hertz', Melbourne's Amyl and The Sniffers celebrate the release of their already-acclaimed second album Comfort To Me

Comfort To Me, which was co-produced by the band and Dan Luscombe, is the follow-up to Amyl & the Sniffers’ critically acclaimed 2019 self-titled debut album, which won an ARIA Award for Best Rock Album and saw the band tour their anarchic and ridiculously fun live show internationally for the past two years.

What you need to know

  • Amyl and the Sniffers are back with their sophomore album Comfort To Me
  • Amy Taylor’s been delving into new lyrical inspirations while the band sound tighter than ever
  • It’s partly an exploration of how they can branch out of their Melbourne garage roots

Stay up to date with what’s happening in Melbourne here.

Comfort To Me – mixed by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, IDLES, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) and mastered by Bernie Grundman (Prince, Michael Jackson, Dr. Dre, OutKast) – signals a major gear shift for the hell-raising Australian punks.

The album includes previously released singles ‘Guided By Angels’ and ‘Security’, which received instant acclaim from press across the globe as well as social media support from high-profile fans including Juliette Lewis and Diplo.

With its lyrics largely written during the Australian Bushfire season, when The Sniffers were already wearing masks to protect themselves from smoke in the air, Comfort To Me came together in a 3-bedroom apartment where the four band members quarantined together during lockdown.

“This album is just us — raw self expression, defiant energy, unapologetic vulnerability,” explains Taylor. “It was written by four self-taught musicians who are all just trying to get by and have a good time.”

Renowned for their ball-tearing live show, Amyl and The Sniffers – rounded out by guitarist Dec Martens, bassist Gus Romer and drummer Bryce Wilson – will premiere a filmed performance of Comfort to Me on October 5, with the album played in full, in one take, on a slab of concrete in a suburban wasteland somewhere in Melbourne.

Tracklist (because you gotta love Amyl track names)

1. Guided by Angels
2. Freaks to the Front
3. Choices
4. Security
5. Hertz
6. No More Tears
7. Maggot
8. Capital
9. Don’t Fence Me In
10. Knifey
11. Don’t Need A C*** (Like You To Love Me)
12. Laughing
13. Snakes

Tickets for the livestream are available on the band’s webstore.