The Melbourne Prize for Music finalists have been announced

Get the latest from Beat


The Melbourne Prize for Music finalists have been announced

Kristina Kingston

A huge slate of talent has been recognised in this year’s awards.

In June, The Melbourne Prize Trust opened applications for a handful of prestigious music prizes amounting to over $100,000 in total. The trust announced they were on the hunt for Victoria’s most outstanding musician or band, with the newly established Melbourne Prize for Music set to reward a winner with $60,000. After receiving a record number of applications across all categories, the artists and groups shortlisted for each award have been announced.

Finalists for the Melbourne Prize for Music, which looks to recognise outstanding skill, include Deborah Cheetham AO, David Bridie, Andrea Keller, Erkki Veltheim, and Sophie Brous.

The shortlist for the $18,500 Development Award, awarded to an early career artist or group exhibiting exceptional potential, comprises Aviva Endean, Mojo Juju, Scott McConnachie, Kaiit Waup, and Elizabeth Welsh.

Looking to recognise an emerging Victorian composer, the $12,500 Beleura Emerging Composers Award shortlist includes Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, Andrea Keller, Sophie Koh, May Lyon, and Tilman Robinson.

Those who miss out in their category may still have a chance to walk away a winner, too, with the $20,000 Distinguished Musician Fellowship going to a finalist within one of the aforementioned categories. Similarly, the Civic Choice Award nominations are now open, encompassing finalists across all categories, and will award its winner $3,000. Voters for the Civic Choice Award will go in the draw to win an overnight stay at Melbourne’s Sofitel on Collins.

To decide who’ll walk away with the title in each category, the Melbourne Prize Trust has devised an esteemed panel of judges and industry professionals including Kate Miller-Heidke, Kutcha Edwards, Professor Paul Grabowsky AO, Professor Liza Lim, Melissa King, and Helen Marcou AM.

Winners will be announced on Wednesday November 13, with the Civic Choice Award winner to be announced on Friday November 29. For announcements, more details and to vote in the Civic Choice Award, head to