The Count’s announces full winter season of live jazz
18.05.2022

The Count’s announces full winter season of live jazz

The Count's
words by sidonie bird de la coeur

The Count’s is the home of jazz in Melbourne’s south east and it’s just announced a winter season of live music that’s set to warm your soul.

Café by day, jazz club by night – The Count’s is hosting jazz and contemporary music programming every Wednesday night. With special Saturday events throughout the season, this is the perfect place to attend as the days get shorter and the nights get colder. Rug up in this velvet curtain-lined club that overlooks a tranquil terrace in the heart of Monash University’s Clayton campus and enjoy an unmatched program of music from seasoned and emerging jazz and contemporary artists.

What you need to know

  • The Count’s has announced a winter music series
  • With programming every Wednesday night and special Saturday shows throughout the season, this is perfect for any jazz lover
  • The line-up includes The Experience, Renee Geyer, Barney McAll and more.

Keep up with the latest music news, features, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

The month of June is looking to be an unmissable month at The Count’s, with The Experience kicking off the season on June 1 – a super group of five legendary Afro-Jazz musicians who will be bringing their vibrant show to the stage. On June 8, kora player and vocalist Amadou Suso will showcase his song writing prowess along with his six piece ensemble. The Skellingtons are bringing swinging, swaying and bone-rattling jazz on June 15 with lead trumpeter, the award winning Eamon McNelis.

Paul Van Ross will be revisiting Mi Alma Cuba, his Cuban-inspired album for his premiere show at The Count’s on June 22. You’ll be blown away by the legendary Renee Geyer’s debut on Saturday June 25, with Barney McAll, the ARIA-Winning jazz pianist and composer gracing the stage at The Count’s on June 29. With many more class A acts appearing all throughout July and August, this is an unmissable series of events for anyone who loves jazz.

The Count’s Winter Season Full Line-up:

Wednesday 1 June – The Experience

Wednesday 8 June – Amadou And Friends

Wednesday 15 June – The Skellingtons

Wednesday 22 June – Paul Van Ross Latin Project

Saturday 25 June – Renee Geyer

Wednesday 29 June – Barney McAll

Wednesday 6 July – Paul Williamson Hammond Combo

Wednesday 13 July – Jake Mason Trio

Wednesday 20 July – Michelle Nicolle Quartet

Wednesday 27 July – Black Jesus Experience

Saturday 30 July – Kylie Auldist

Wednesday 3 August – Cairo Club Orchestra with Nichaud Fitzgibbon

Wednesday 10 August – Adam Rudegeair Presents: Retconned Bond

Wednesday 17 August – Kristin Berardi

Wednesday 24 August – Dan Dinnen and Shorty

Wednesday 31 August – Hetty Kate Quintet

For more information, head here.

This article is made in partnership with The Count’s