New Music Fridays featuring Courtney Barnett, Snoop Dogg, Amy Shark & more

Get the latest from Beat

New Music Fridays featuring Courtney Barnett, Snoop Dogg, Amy Shark & more


Whether you slogged your way through some post-festival depression following Golden Plains this week or you’d just rather be watching movies in bed thanks to this dreary autumn weather, we’ve got just the right tunes to revive you from those weekday sads. That’s right kiddies, it’s Friday and that means a big ol’ helping of fresh tunes is here to carry you off into the weekend. No matter what the next two days have in store, there’s bound to be something to spice up your playlist – even if it is just cleaning your kitchen to some Snoop Dogg.  

Courtney Barnett – ‘Need A Little Time’ (Milk! Records)

Nothing makes for a good Friday morning than an overnight single release. Giving another taste of her upcoming album Tell Me How You Really Feel, Courtney Barnett has just dropped the second single off the record, ‘Need A Little Time’ – ramping up the excitement for the forthcoming release even more. Displaying a much more sing-song style of vocals than what we usually hear from her and consequentially shifting the emotive lyrics away from her particular style of comical cynicism, ‘Need A Little Time’ is fresh without straying too far from the Courtney Barnett sound we know and love.

Press Club – Late Teens (Independent)

Press Club have just dropped their eagerly awaited debut Late Teens and boy has it been worth the wait. The garage rock outfit has gone from strength to strength, kicking off 2018 with this scorcher of an album before they hit the road to support The Smith Street Band on their upcoming tour national tour. Compiled of full-force belters like ‘Crash’ and ‘Headwreck’, balanced with intimate, reflective tunes such as ‘Stay Low’, Late Teens will hit you where it hurts in the best possible way.   

Mount Eerie – Now Only (P.W. Elverum Sun)

Following the extremely personal A Crow Looked At Me, recorded in 2017 amidst the grief-stricken state that followed the passing of his wife, Now Only seems to be much of a continuation of this ‘mourning through music’ process. Now Only is rife with raw, poetic lyricism and subtle melodies with MountEerie (AKA Phil Elverum) describing the album as “barely music”. Whilst a description such as that may not sound appealing to listen to, the fragile melodies and gently sung, harrowing lyrics are beautifully crafted into what can only be described as a work of art.

Amy Shark – ‘Sink In’ (RCA Records)

Collaborating with producer Jack Antonoff for the soundtrack upcoming film Love, Simon – due to hit cinemas on March 29 – Amy Shark has created another addictive track with ‘Sink In’. With an irresistibly rhythmic beat and the kind of dramatic emotion one would expect from a track written for a feature film, the single is bound to be as anthemic as Shark’s hit ‘Adore’. Having just rocked a Jimmy Fallon appearance to boot, Amy Shark is one to keep a close eye on.

Snoop Dogg – Bible of Love (All the Time Entertainment) 

Life can be pretty weird, like when a rapper renowned for his love of illicit substances decides to drop a gospel album. That’s right, Bible of Love is exactly what the title suggests – an inspirational album with strong religious influences by none other than Snoop Dogg. The collaborative effort features a huge lineup of artists such as Tye Tribbet, B. Slade, and even Faith Evans. If you’ve come for that classic Snoop sound, you’re going to be sorely disappointed. Bible of Love is theatrical, harmonic and upbeat – much like its gospel influences – but fear not, the man can still drop a pretty mean rhyme.

The Fratellis – In Your Own Sweet Time (Cooking Vinyl)

The Fratellis have reunited to bring you their fifth studio album and first release in three years, In Your Own Sweet Time. The album displays a groovy pop-rock fusion with tracks like ‘Indestructible’ instant dancefloor-worthy material with its upbeat rhythm and slick guitar licks whilst ‘I Guess… I Suppose…’ serving up more classic rock melodies. Alternating between high energy, almost chaotic tracks and relaxed easy-listens, In Your Own Sweet Time is a bit of a lucky dip, but you’ll be pleased no matter what you pull out.

Kim Wilde – Here Come The Aliens (Sony)

Serving as her first original release since the early ‘90s, Kim Wilde’s new album Here Come The Aliens had a lot riding on it and it has certainly delivered. It seems Wilde has been bottling up a lot of creative talent over the past couple of decades and she’s let it all out in one big hit. Grandiose, guitar-driven indie pop with tracks like ‘A Different Story’ immediately weaselling their way into your brain so you’ll be humming it all damn day, it’s safe to say Here Come The Aliens didn’t keep you waiting for nothing.