Maple Glider, Genesis Owusu, RVG lead 2024 AIR Award nominees

Get the latest from Beat


Maple Glider, Genesis Owusu, RVG lead 2024 AIR Award nominees

Words by Staff Writer

AIR is returning to Adelaide this August for its annual AIR Awards and Indie-Con Australia Conference.

Minister for Arts, Andrea Michaels MP said: “The Malinauskas Government is proud to support the AIR Awards and Indie-Con Australia Conference. It is fantastic to be hosting the awards here in Adelaide again – Australia’s only UNESCO City of Music – and I congratulate all of the nominees. It’s a wonderful opportunity to recognise the work the independent music industry does in providing talented and emerging artists and music businesses with a platform to share their art with a wider audience.”

The AIR Awards recognise, promote, and celebrate the success of Australia’s Independent Music sector. Over 250 individual Awards have been presented to date and for many winners and nominees, it has been their first industry recognition that has helped facilitate national and international attention. Some of these artists include Genesis Owusu, Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy, Flume, Sampa the Great, Amyl and the Sniffers, Sheppard, Confidence Man, G Flip, Tones and I, A.B Original, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, Violent Soho and Telenova.

The 2024 AIR Awards will be held at the Queen’s Theatre, Adelaide on Thursday 1st August 2024.

The 2024 Nominees 

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album Or EP

Dan Sultan – Dan Sultan
Dope Lemon – Kimosabè
Georgia Mooney – Full Of Moon
Leah Senior – The Music That I Make
The Teskey Brothers – The Winding Way

Best Independent Jazz Album Or EP

Elixir – A Small Shy Truth
Grievous Bodily Calm – Cascades
Lance Gurisik & Jeremy Rose – Cull Portal
Mike Nock – Hearing
The Rookies – Feed The Fire

Best Independent Classical Album Or EP

Australian Chamber Orchestra / Richard Tognetti – Beethoven Symphonies 1, 2 & 3 ‘eroica’
Karen Jacobsen – Misogyny Opus
Neil Gaiman & Fourplay String Quartet – Signs Of Life
Russell Morris – The Real Thing Symphonic Concert
Slava Grigoryan – Gratitudes

Best Independent Children’s Album Or EP

Amber Lawrence – A Very Aussie Aussie Christmas
Emma Memma – Ballet Time
Josh Pyke – It’s Gonna Be A Great, Great Day!
The Wiggles – Ready Steady Wiggle
Whistle & Trick – Bananas And Other Delicious Things

Best Independent Country Album Or EP

Fanny Lumsden – Hey Dawn
Henry Wagons – South Of Everywhere
Maple Glider – I Get Into Trouble
The Wolfe Brothers – Livin’ The Dream
Travis Collins – Any Less Anymore

Best Independent Soul/RnB Album Or EP

Bumpy – Morning Sun Ep
Immy Owusu – Lo-life!
Ruby Jackson – Sweeter For Me
Wilsn – Those Days Are Over
Women Of Soul Collective – Feel Good

Best Independent Pop Album Or EP

Hatchie – Giving The World Away (Deluxe)
Jack River – Endless Summer
Kate Ceberano – My Life Is A Symphony
Molly Millington- 5 Stages
Nat Vazer – Strange Adrenaline

Best Independent Rock Album Or EP

Alex Lahey – The Answer Is Always Yes
Pacific Avenue – Flowers
Royel Otis – Sofa Kings
Rvg – Brain Worms
Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers – I Love You

Independent Marketing Team Of The Year

Domestic La La – Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, I Love You
I Oh You, Mushroom – Dma’s, How Many Dreams?
Ivy League, Mushroom – The Teskey Brothers, The Winding Way
Slow Clap- Private Function, 370hssv 0773h
The Annex, Ourness, Awal – Genesis Owusu, Struggler

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year – Presented By PPCA

Chloe Dadd
Pacific Avenue
Royel Otis

Best Independent Hip Hop Album Or EP

Genesis Owusu – Struggler
Jk-47 – Revision For Regrowth
Teether & Kuya Neil – Stressor
Urthboy – Savour
Ziggy Ramo – Sugar Coated Lies

Best Independent Dance Or Electronica Album Or EP

BIG WETT – Pu$$y
Cub Sport – Jesus At The Gay Bar
Haiku Hands – Pleasure Beast
Simona Castricum – Sink
Skeleten – Under Utopia

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Or Club Single

Confidence Man – On & On (Again)
Fisher & Kita Alexander – Atmosphere
Memphis LK – Black And Blue
Odd Mob & Omnom – Losing Control
The Jungle Giants – Trippin Up

Best Independent Punk Album Or EP

Enola – All Is Forgiven Ep
Luca Brasi – The World Don’t Owe You Anything
Private Function – 370hssv 0773h
Radio Free Alice – Radio Free Alice
Teenage Joans – The Rot That Grows Inside My Chest

Best Independent Heavy Album Or EP

C.O.F.F.I.N – Australia Stops
Glitoris – Glitoris
Polaris – Fatalism
Redhook – Postcard From A Living Hell
Void Of Vision – Chronicles

Independent Album Of The Year

Cub Sport – Jesus At The Gay Bar
Genesis Owusu – Struggler
Jen Cloher – I Am The River, The River Is Me
Maple Glider – I Get Into Trouble
RVG – Brain Worms

Independent Song Of The Year

Genesis Owusu – Leaving The Light
Jem Cassar-daley – King Of Disappointment
Maple Glider – Don’t Kiss Me
RVG – Nothing Really Changes
Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers – I Used To Be Fun

Independent Label Of The Year

AbC Music
Dot Dash Recordings
Poison City Records
Spinning Top Records

Independent Publicity Team Of The Year

I Oh You, Mushroom – Dma’s, How Many Dreams?
Janine Morcos – Teenage Joans, The Rot That Grows Inside My Chest
Jessica Searle – Jen Cloher, I Am The River, The River Is Me
Thinking Loud – Genesis Owusu, Struggler
This Much Talent – Nat Vazer, Strange Adrenaline

Independent Music Video Of The Year

Adam Munnings – Cub Sport, Keep Me Safe
Chris Cowburn – Emma Donovan, Blak Nation
Hayden Somerville – Rvg, Nothing Really Changes
Sean Higgins – Adam Noviello, Fumbling
Tobias Willis – Georgia Mooney, War Romance

Independent Producer Of The Year

Bonnie Knight – Enola, All Is Forgiven Ep
Konstantin Kersting – Dma’s, How Many Dreams?
Oscar Dawson – Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, I Love You
Pnau – Multiple Singles In 2023
Tom Iansek – Maple Glider, I Get Into Trouble

Focusing on issues that are specifically relevant to the independent music sector, AIR’s Indie-Con Australia conference will be held from Wednesday 31st July to Friday 2nd August at Mercury Cinema and will be followed by Scouted.

Details about speakers and the program to be announced in the coming weeks here.