Tropical Fuck Storm just dropped a new single

Tropical Fuck Storm just dropped a new single

Featuring Amyl & The Sniffer’s Amy Taylor, Surfbort’s Sean Powell, and Dan Kelly.

On the back of last year’s Braindrops, Tropical Fuck Storm return with a new track titled ‘Suburbiopia’ which premiered via NME this morning.

Inspired by suicide cults, the single is a distorted freakout driven by spacey synths, fuzzed out guitars and lofi vocals. A collaboration with Amyl & The Sniffers frontwoman Amy Taylor, Sufbort’s Sean Powell, and Dan Kelly, ‘Suburbiopia’ sees the guest musicians jumping in on drums and synthesisers.

The new track comes just two days after TFS were forced to cancel their upcoming American tour due to the global health crisis surrounding coronavirus. In lieu of the tour, the band promised they would be retreating to the bush to work on new music.

According to NME, the track is a taste of a forthcoming record which will see Gareth Liddiard stepping back from main vocal duties so Erica Dunn and Fiona Kitschin can feature more heavily.

As well as dropping the new single, the band have also released a film clip rife with references to the cults which inspired the track.

Check it out below.

Never miss a story. Sign up to Beat’s newsletter and you’ll be served fresh music, arts, food and culture stories three times a week.