Longlist announced for 12th Australian Music Prize

Get the latest from Beat

Longlist announced for 12th Australian Music Prize


From debut albums by the likes of D.D Dumbo and Dope Lemon, to the 16th studio album release from Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, the 12th AMP Longlist represents excellence in Australian music.  

Making an appearance on this year’s longlist are A.B Original for Reclaim Australia, The Avalanches with Wildflower, Camp Cope, The Delta Riggs, The Drones, Emma Russack, Flume, friendships, Gabriella Cohen with Full Disclosure and No Detail, Gawurra, The Jezabels, Liz Stringer, Melody Pool, Mike Noga, The Nation Blue, Ngaiire, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Peep Tempel, Remi, Violent Soho, Yeo and a whole lot more. 

In 2015, 56 albums were Longlisted for the 11th AMP with Melbourne-based singer/songwriter Courtney Barnett taking out the top prize for her acclaimed record, Sometimes I Sit and Think, Sometimes I Just Sit.

Check the full list below: 

A.B. Original – Reclaim Australia

Archie Roach – Let Love Rule

The Avalanches – Wildflower

Big Scary – Animal

Big White – Teenage Dreams

Camp Cope – Camp Cope

Cash Savage and the Last Drinks – One Of Us

Chook Race – Around The House

Curse Ov Dialect – Twisted Strangers

D.D Dumbo – Utopia Defeated

Deborah Conway/Willy Zygier – Everybody’s Begging

The Delta Riggs – Active Galactic

Dope Lemon – Honey Bones

Dorsal Fins – Digital Zodiac

The Drones – Feelin’ Kinda Free

Ducks! – Ding Ding Ding

Ela Stiles – Molten Metal

Emma Russack – In a New State

Flume – Skin

friendships – Nullarbor 1988 – 1989

Gabriella Cohen – Full Closure And No Detail

Gawurra – Ratja Yaliyal

Gentleforce – Refuge From The Great Sadness

Halfway – The Golden Halfway Record

Jagwar Ma – Every Now & Then

Jarrow – 2003 Dream

The Jezabels – Synthia

Julia Jacklin – Don’t Let The Kids Win

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Nonagon Infinity

Koi Child – Koi Child

Liz Stringer – All Of The Bridges

Marcus Whale – Inland Sea

Mark Pritchard – Under The Sun

Melody Pool – Deep Dark Savage Heart

Mike Noga – King

The Moles – Tonight’s Music

Mt. Mountain – Cosmos Terros

The Nation Blue – Black

NGAIIRE – Blastoma

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree

NO ZU – Afterlife

Olympia – Self Talk

Pale Earth – Always

The Peep Tempel – Joy

Pikelet – Tronc

Rainbow Chan – Spacings

REMI – Divas & Demons

Richard Cuthbert – Peach Plum

Safe Hands – Tie Your Soul To Mine

Sara Storer – Silos

Sarah Mary Chadwick – Roses Always Die

Solo Andata – In The Lens

Sophie Hutchings – Wide Asleep

Stu Hunter – the migration

Summer Flake – Hello Friends

Teeth & Tongue – Give Up On Your Health

Troy Cassar-Daley – Things I Carry Around

Twelve Foot Ninja – Outlier

Urthboy – The Past Beats Inside Me Like A Second Heartbeat

Violent Soho – WACO

Yeo – Ganbaru