Golden Plains Round One Announcement

Get the latest from Beat

Golden Plains Round One Announcement


…and the Hold Steady are coming back.

Finally! The first announcement for Golden Plains is here and it’s all killer, no filler. It’s also The Hold Steady, and Joanna Newsom, and Mount Kimbie. Woo!

The full lineup reads as such: Os Mutantes, The Hold Steady, Joanna Newsom, Best Coast, Hawkwind, Architecture In Helsinki, Wavves, The Clean, Jamie Lidell, Airbourne, Pulled Apart By Horses, The Middle East, Mount Kimbie, Boy & Bear, Robert Forster, The Besnard Lakes, Cosmic Psychos, Justin Townes Earle, J-Wow Feat. MC Kalaf, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Imelda May, Bamboo Musik DJs, Brain Children, Graveyard Train, World’s End Press, and Magic Kids.

We’re excited for Best Coast – that record’s been on repeat for a while – as well as The Clean, which is just classically wicked. Architecture are wonderful and it’s nice that they’re allowed to play festivals other than Laneway sometimes, Mount Kimbie are mindblowing, Robert Forster is quite an amazing guy – or so The John Steel Singers told me – Justin Townes Earle is all soul and blues and dirty drug addictiony goodness, and well, look, it’s Golden Plains – like Meredith, but sunnier.

That’s not even all of it, though – just round one. Stay tuned. Stay positive.