9th Coopers AMP Whittles List Down To Nine

Get the latest from Beat

9th Coopers AMP Whittles List Down To Nine


Cut down from a longlist of 43 recordings, the nine are in alphabetical order, Beaches’ She Beats, Big Scary’s Not Art, Cloud Control’s Dream Cave, Dialectrix’s The Cold Light Of Day, Horrorshow’s King Amongst Many, Jagwar Ma’s Howlin’, Jen Cloher’s In Blood Memory, Jimblah’s Phoenix and Kirin J Callinan’s Embracism.

Two of these had earlier albums shortlisted – Beaches were previously nominated for their 2008 self-titled record while Cloud Control’s debut album Bliss won the 2010 AMP.

Scott B. Murphy, AMP founder and director, said, “Nine years on and I still don’t know how the judges pull it off – selecting nine great albums from over 300 that they listen to. Yet again our shortlist shows what amazing Australian talent is out there and that the world needs to hear it.”

The Shortlisted! concert at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl was co-hosted by Ella Hooper and Urthboy, with live performances from the shortlisted Kirin J Callinan, Beaches, Jen Cloher (with Courtney Barnett on guitar) and Dialectrix alongside headliners and 8th Coopers AMP winners Hermitude.

For more info on Coopers AMP, head to thecoopersamp.com.au.