$100k in prizes up for grabs for emerging songwriters and composers

$100k in prizes up for grabs for emerging songwriters and composers


2022 APRA Professional Development Awards applications are now open, with the award formerly kickstarting the careers of Gotye, Ecca Vandal and more.

Applications now open for the 2022 APRA Professional Development Awards, which provide an annual game changing opportunity for songwriters and composers.

The awards are a career boosting initiative which have helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Ecca Vandal, Eric Avery, Gordi, Morgan Evans, Beatrice Lewis, Michael Yezerski, and many more.

What you need to know

  • 2022 APRA Professional Development Awards applications are now open
  • 10 prizes of $10,000 each are available for songwriters and composers
  • Categories span numerous musical genres as well as composition specific

Keep up with the latest music news, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

Now held annually, the APRA Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers. In 2022, ten individual winners will each take home $10,000 cash and a prize courtesy of Australis Music.

APRA AMCOS is also pleased to partner with Smugglers of Light Foundation in presenting the Music and Media Award to an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner. This award was established in memory of Eli Westlake.

Applications are now open to emerging songwriters and composers across the following categories:

Popular Contemporary – (2 Awards) includes Pop, Rock, Alternative, Blues, Roots, Folk, Metal, Christian and Children’s
Jazz & Improvised Music
Classical & Experimental
Film & Television/Gaming
Hip Hop/Rap/Soul/RnB
Music Theatre/Stage – workshop funding only
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music and Media Award supported by Smugglers of Light

2022 APRA Professional Development Awards judges include Alister Spence, Ben Nicholson, Brendan Gallagher, Brooke McClymont, Chelsea Wilson, Clare Bowditch, Craig Christie, Craig Hawker, Dan Biddle, Dave Ruby Howe, Erkki Veltheim, Erol Yurdagul, Franc Tetaz, Gabby Colombi, Jenny Morris, Joel Ma, John Ferris, Julia Bald, Karen Hamilton, Lance Ferguson, Marianna Annas, Michelle Guthrie, Neil Gooding, Nick Hedger, Nina Las Vegas, Paul Healy, Petrina Convey, Pia Del Mastro, Reg Harris, Rishin Singh, Vanessa Tomlinson, Yantra de Vilder, Yve Blake, and more to be announced.
Applications for the awards close at 5pm AEDT on Thursday 18 November 2021. Click here for more information and to apply.